Painting Embroidery Thread

I have been working on a hand embroidery project.  I have been using Sulky 12 wt Cotton Petites and Linda Palaisy’s hand-dyed Soy Silk and didn’t have the right colour of thread of either in my stash.  So I decided to paint some white 12 wt Sulky cotton thread using Inktense Blocks.

White thread ready to be coloured

White thread ready to be coloured

 

 

 

I wrapped a length of thread once around the clothes line and pinned it.  Then, using a dampened sponge, I wet the thread.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I re-wet the sponge and wrung it out.  Using the side of a Derwent Inktense Block I coloured the damp sponge. Holding on to the end of the thread to keep it taut I wiped the sponge up and down the thread making sure it was completely covered.dyeing-thread-first-colour

 

 

After rinsing out the remaining colour. I covered the sponge with a second, darker colour.

dyeing-thread-second-color

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I then coloured over parts of the thread.

 

 

 

dyeing-thread-drying

After the thread dries I will iron it and then re-wet it and use a sponge or old wash cloth to remove the excess colour.

 

 

 

Posted on January 21, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

