Deer Sketches

Last summer I was visited by a young deer that spent quite a bit of time outside the window at my cottage in Calabogie.

Here are two watercolour sketches I did recently from the photographs I took.

deer-watercolourThis is the first one I did.  It is only 4 x 6 inches and I decided that I shouldn’t have added the background.

deer-watercolor-sketchIn this one I found a better paint mixture to match his coat.

16-6-28-deerThis is one of 3 pages of quick pen sketches I did of the deer.  I don’t do enough of these.  I tend to grab my camera first.  He spent so much time here, I was able to get many photographs as well as 3 pages of sketches.  As you can see there are no antlers in the pen sketches.  I only noticed them when I had the photos up on the computer.

Posted on December 10, 2016, in Cross Training, Nature Journaling, Watercolours and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great sketches and very nice water colours. Nice work as always Nancy! Hope you are keeping well! Merry Christmas to you! Cynthia

Leave a Reply

