Notans

I recently watched a video demonstration by Dory Kantor on Notans.  Traditionally these are done cutting out black paper and gluing the results to white paper.  In the video Dory uses colour and that was a major stimulus for me to give it a try.

I started by experimenting with face shapes. Once they were done I traced and scanned them and then used my embroidery software to make embroidery patterns.

Notan-face-1r

notan-3colours-

 

Face-notan-2t

 

 

Next I tried a flower shape and I cheated on this one as I changed it while I was tracing it to get the form and shapes I wanted.

notan-iris-machine-embroidered

 

 

Then, just for fun I did cat silhouettes.

3-cats-machine-embroidered

All the embroideries are done on white organza.

 

 

Posted on July 11, 2015, in Machine embroidery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love the cats! Really nice design!q

Leave a Reply

