Watercolour and Pastel

Yesterday I was going to post another of my watercolour paintings.  However, when I looked at the photograph of it I noticed a few things that needed correcting.  I worked on it a bit yesterday and earlier this morning.  I need to photograph it again but I like to use natural light and it is raining.  So instead I am posting this painting.

watercolour&-pastel

This painting is done from a photograph I took near my cottage in Calabogie this past winter.  It was a beautiful day and after trying to photograph a Pileated woodpecker that was not cooperating, I walked up the hill and there were two deer posing perfectly for me.  One just stood there and stared.  The other, the one I have painted, moved around a bit but always kept his eye on me.

I planned to do the picture in watercolour and chalk pastels, so I chose rough watercolour paper to work on.  After I sketched and masked out the deer with frisket, I painted the background with watercolours.  I was not pleased with it.  Maybe, knowing I could cover it with the pastels, I was careless.  I did cover it with pastels.  I then removed the frisket and painted the deer with watercolours.  I used some pastel on the deer as well.

Posted on April 26, 2013, in Cross Training, Pastels, Uncategorized, Watercolours and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Grahamcynthia@bell.net

    Very nice work Nancy! Bet you are loving your time at the cottage! Just a suggestion..you can take it or leave it…you could kick this painting up a notch by looking back at your reference photo and looking for a few really dark darks that you could put in at the bottom 1/3 of the painting. It would ground the deer and also make the white highlights more effective. I sure miss all of you! Hope you are still having fun. Hugs, Cynthia

Leave a Reply

