Poinsettia

This watercolour was one of the paintings  found in the old folder that I mentioned last week. It is unsigned and I was  unsure if I did it or if it was one of my late mother’s.  I remember planning to do a painting of a poinsettia, but I also remember looking for the one I thought I had painted and not finding it.  I also know that my mother painted one.

poinsettia watercolour

The reason I was looking for it was to make it into a Christmas card.  Instead I had to do something else.  I used to paint pictures during my Christmas holidays to make cards for the following year.   Later when I started doing fibre art I decided to use pictures of that for my card instead of doing a painting once a year.

I am visiting my sister and her family for Christmas and she has my mother’s painting of a poinsettia on the wall in her living room. Mystery solved.

Posted on December 26, 2012, in Watercolours and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. That’s a really beautiful painting Nancy! Seem you come by your many talents very naturally! Hope you are having a very happy holiday!

  2. How exciting to find a work you did a long time ago….so beautiful and talented even then. I see you added a like to my Rothko post…thank you. Also wishing you a Happy New Year. Robert

  3. I love this poinsettia painting – very raw and fresh! Happy New Year!

  4. Love it d

Leave a Reply

