Not Just A Pretty Face

I recently opened my beading tray to do some beading and found a face pin that I had started months ago but never finished.

I finished that pin and started another.

I always start with the eyes, nose and mouth.  I next add any large pattern areas

before filling in the rest of the face.  Then I add the hair.

When all the beading is done, I sew a pin onto some cutaway stabilizer and sew that onto the back of the pin.

Posted on September 19, 2012, in Figurative Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. They look so weird (but in a really good way!) That was supposed to be a compliment… They’re eyecatching, and I can imagine you get a lot of comments about them. How do you make them?

    • Thank you. I sew 2 layers of muslin onto cutaway stabilizer in the shape that I want. Then I make a slit in the top layer of muslin, turn it inside out so that the stabilizer is between the muslin layers. I draw the features of the face on the uncut layer of muslin with a pencil and start beading.

  2. Such painstaking work – unique and striking pieces! =D

Leave a Reply

