Whatever Lola Wants…

Lola wants to dance.

This is what Lola looked like a few weeks ago.

Lola in progress

Lola: Work in Progress

Since then I have had to make several versions of some of her body parts before I could get them to look the way I wanted.

Lola detail

Lola

Lola profile

Lola: Detail Profile

I usually have a standard order in which I sew the different parts of a doll together.  I sew the legs to the torso first.  I sew the arms on after the clothes.   I usually sew the head on before I put on the hair and then paint the face.  This time I put the hair on first.  Big mistake!  The hair kept getting in the way as I was sewing on the head.

Painting the face comes last.

Lola: Face Painting 1

Lola: Outlining features with air erasable pen

The first thing I do  is draw in the features with an air erasable pen.  I cover her hair with a piece of cloth to keep it out of the way and to protect it when I spray the face with fixative.

Lola: Face Painting 2

Lola: Outlining features with permanent ink

Once I get the features correct, I go over some of it with a Pigma Micron 005 brown pen.  This is permanent ink.

Except for the high light in the eye, the face is painted with pastel pencils.

Lola: Face Painting with chalk pastels

Lola: Adding colour with chalk pastels

I use 2- 3 colours for the eyes and eyeshadow and 2 colours for the lips. The top lip is always darker than the bottom, which catches more light.  I add the highlight to the eye last.  I use acrylic paint applied with the tip of a needle.

Lola: Face painting shadows and blush

Lola: More colour

Lola: Finished Face

Lola: Face

I also paint the fingernails.

Lola: Painted fingernails

Lola: Painted Fingernails

So here she is, practicing her routine to be  ready for her audition for So You Think You Can Dance.

Lola

Posted on August 22, 2012, in Figurative Art, Soft Sculpture and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Lola is wonderful! Love her pose and the colours! You did a really good job on her face too! She really comes to life!

  2. Fabulous! I love Lola! Keep up the great work.

  3. Whatever Lola wants, Lola gets?

  4. Lovely Lola – I particularly like the way you have painted her face – much more character than most art dolls I have seen. Please tell: what is an air erasable pen?…

    • Thank you. An air erasable pen is one in which the pen marks (usually pyrple) fade after a time when exposed to air. The more humid the air the faster they fade. It is readily available in stores that have supplies for quilters.

  5. I love your art the figures are amazing!! Where can I purchase them? And I love your blog

Leave a Reply

