Come Swim with the Fishes

I made some more fish.

I made three bodies and then embroidered the eyes and fins.

Fin-less Blind Fish

I’m still having trouble with the stabilizer scrunching up as I sew but it’s a little better after putting it in the freezer for a while before I start embroidering on it.

Free Motion embroidery fins and eyes on water-soluble stabilizer

Dorsal fins and a new eye

When I started to sew on the  fins , I realized that I had forgotten to embroider the dorsal fins.  I also didn’t like one of set of eyes, so I decided to redo it in a different colour.

Detail of Fish Tail

School of Fish

The tail fin of the green and purple fish was a little floppy so I coated both sides with Acrylic Matte Medium.  When I finished the fish I hung them outside to photograph.

Posted on July 4, 2012, in Free Motion Embroidery, Soft Sculpture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Love this idea with embroidered fish tail and fins you can see through in the light. Beautifully done and very colourful in light.

  2. They are such fun. I love the colours and the fins are really unique! This is one school that has graduated! Good work Nancy.

  3. Very sweet fish & a good tip to freeze the stabiliser. Do you use Romeo? A fairly heavy duty one I get in the UK.

  4. LOVE your fishies!! they are wonderful! 😀
    (and ditto thanks for the freezing tip!)

  5. Gorgeous fishies…

  6. Your fish are fabulous!!!

Leave a Reply

