Give a Hand

I’ve just finished the hands on my latest doll.

Turning the fingers an sometimes be a chore but this time it all went smoothly.

The dark spots between the fingers is Fray Check to

Hands inside out

keep the fabric from fraying and the seams from being blown.

I use brass tubes to turn the fingers.  The larger tube goes into the finger and the smaller one rests on top.

Turning fingers with brass tubes

Then the fabric of the finger is gently manipulated up the tube so that the finger turns inside out and disappears  inside the palm.

Hands right side out

Once the fingers are turned it is time to insert pipe cleaners so that the hands can be posed.

Pipe cleaners give shape

Care must be taken so that you make a right and a left hand.

Posed Hand

Posted on May 23, 2012, in Figurative Art, Soft Sculpture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I bet that is valuable info you are sharing! You should write a book on doll making!
    It is such intricate work! Always in great admiration of your patience and talent!

  2. First to say thank you for your visit and Follow at art rat cafe, I am honoured. I am fascinated by your doll making information – this is something that I have always wanted to do. I have ideas that I want to make tangible in the form of art dolls but have not been successful as yet. I am looking forward to exploring your site and learning more…

Leave a Reply

