Thread Tangles

I am a firm believer in artistic cross training. It helps you grow as an artist, strengthens weak areas and is fun. Sometimes it can evolve and become  part of your  area of specialization. At  the very least it allows  one to take a break from your regular work while still being creative.

My machine embroidered doodles started out as just plain doodles with black ink on paper. After making several doodles I noticed that a lot of the patterns I was using to fill in the spaces were very similar to the built-in stitches on my sewing  machine. As I have a software program that allows me to program the built-in stitches into embroideries that’s what I did!
First I do a complete doodle with pen and ink.

Then I trace the outline and the areas to doodle, scan it, bring it up in my my embroidery software and choose the stitches. That is almost the hardest part. You have to decide which stitch, how large to make the stitch etc. I use my original doodle to help decide how dense the stitches in each area should be. The drawback to the embroidered doodles is that the stitches have to go in a straight line.

This one has beads added (in the centre of the flower).

Posted on December 6, 2011, in Cross Training, Machine embroidery, Thread tangles. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am all about cross training! This is awesome…very original too! Thanks for dropping by my blog…I will definitely be back to visit you. Julie

Leave a Reply

